Back in the Saddle!

Back in the Saddle!

Week 10 – March 7, 2016

Weather: Mainly cloudy with 60 percent chance of showers early morning then mix of sun and cloud. Wind southwest 20 km/h gusting to 40. High 10°C . UV index 4 or moderate.

Attire: Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC) rain resistant, breathable knee length jacket, motorcycle cold weather leather gloves with high gauntlets, MEC thermal barrier tights.

Variable Attire based on the temperature: sleeveless dress, and 180s ear muffs.

My last blog post was February 12th and since then I have been travelling all over the Province, but unfortunately my bike was parked in the garage.  My week in the Dominican Republic was beautiful and warm.  In keeping with my commitment for heathy living, I walked over 10,000 steps per day and played three rounds of golf.  I worked hard to rest and eat well, but with unlimited food and alcoholic beverages …. Well you get the picture.

IMG_20160216_1442150

The week of February 22 saw me in and out of Toronto every day for 7 days straight, along with two days in Ottawa.  My vehicle was of course needed for these trips and I did not enjoy the time away from my bike.  The Ottawa trip was complete with a winter storm and significant flight delays.  This resulted in a last minute change to take VIA rail back to Toronto and the UP Express to Pearson where I met my driver for a ride back to Waterloo Region.  I was home and in bed before my flight from Ottawa even landed in Toronto!

Last week saw me back into Toronto on Monday followed by a winter storm event Tuesday night and into Wednesday.  I put my upper back out and spent much of Thursday at the Chiropractor and Massage clinic….Friday started at 7 am in Downtown Kitchener followed by work then travel to Niagara Falls for #cuvee2016.  Suffice to say, cycling was not in the horizon for last week either.  I thought about my bike a lot in Niagara Falls this past weekend as the weather was stunning and there is so much investment in cycling infrastructure in and around the area as well as the surrounding wine region. I was longing to be on my bike.

IMG_20160306_1014282

It is 10 degrees of beautiful today! I cycled to the office. I am uncertain if I can still refer to this commute as “winter cycling”.  Today will also be my first commute from my new workplace to City Hall.  There is a lot of construction along my preferred route related to a new rail commuter train known locally as the #ION so I am a bit uncertain as to what trails are open, partially open or altogether closed, but I plan to find out.

Leave a Reply

