Budget Day Stress Buster!

Week 6 – Monday February 8, 2016

Weather: Cloudy with 70 percent chance of rain showers or flurries.  High plus 4

Routine Gear: As discussed previously.

Variable Gear: Bula balaclava, long sleeved dress, winter boots.

Today was budget day at the City of Waterloo.  The work associated with the creation of a three year budget began over a year ago.  I spent the better part of my Birthday yesterday working through the budget documents (again) so I left the house this morning with much on my mind.

It was cloudy so I did not receive the sunshine hit of vitamin D, which I always look forward to.  Never-the-less, the ride was wonderful.  About ½ way to City Hall, I realized I left my cell phone at home.  This realization actually caused me some concern.  When I am cycling I feel that my cellphone is a part of my emergency management plan.  I have been rear-ended by no less than two vehicles on two separate ‘preventable collisions’ and having my cell phone to call for police and EMS brings me a sense of peace while riding.

The budget work reflects the commitment of the City of Waterloo to supporting active transportation.  In 2015, the City of Waterloo counted over 1 Million trips (walking and biking) across all City trail counters. The counts are reflected in the graph included.

counters

Budget day did not end until 10 pm.  By that time it had snowed for some time and it was wet, slippery snow.  Because I did not have the fat tire bike I “called a friend” to bail me out and drive me home.  The lucky friend was my hubby 🙂

Leave a Reply

